Five Guys Allergy Guide

Table of Contents

Five Guys Allergy Guide

If you have food allergies, eating out at restaurants can be a stressful experience. It’s hard to enjoy a meal with family or friends while constantly worrying about an allergic reaction. Five Guys, a popular burger chain, understands this struggle and lists all their allergy ingredients so you can make the best decision when dining at the restaurant.

Five Guys is known for its customizable burgers and fries, so it’s essential to know what ingredients are safe and which are not. In this Five Guys Allergy Guide, we break down what is safe and not safe to eat at the restaurant.

Soy Allergens

If you are allergic to soy, it’s best to avoid burgers and buns at Five Guys. You may be thinking that the only reason to go to Five Guys is to eat burgers, but there are other amazing food items. You can order a delicious milkshake or enjoy the popular fries.  

Peanut and Tree Nut Allergens

If you’re allergic to peanuts, you should avoid milkshakes at Five Guys. The restaurant uses peanuts and peanut butter as a milkshake base. Five Guys also cooks their food in peanut oil. However, peanut oil is highly refined, hot pressed, and less likely to cause a reaction since reactant proteins are processed out. We recommend consulting with an allergy specialist, like one at NY Allergy & Sinus Centers, to determine if refined peanut oil is safe for you to consume. 

Milk Allergens

Milkshakes are one of Five Guys’ most popular items. Sadly, if you have a milk allergy, you won’t be able to enjoy the delicious drink. You will also need to avoid the buns as they contain milk. Luckily, Five Guys’ burgers are still tasty without the bun. Try a lettuce wrap instead.

Egg Allergens

For individuals with egg allergies, Five Guys uses buns that contain egg. However, they offer several options that are safe to consume for allergic individuals. The classic burgers, hot dogs, and sandwiches do not contain any egg-based ingredients, making them a great choice that you can have with a lettuce bun. The grilled onions and mushrooms used as toppings may also come into contact with eggs during preparation, so it’s important to inform the staff of any allergies. 

Wheat Allergens

For individuals with wheat allergies, the menu options are limited. Five Guys’ buns and sandwich rolls contain wheat, which is a common allergen for many people. Five Guys does not offer gluten-free buns or alternative wheat-free options. So, if you want to indulge in a juicy burger or hotdog, you’ll have to order it with a lettuce wrap. You may also consider bringing your own gluten-free bun. 

Managing Your Food Allergies

It’s important to read every food label if you suffer from food allergies. We love that all the items are clearly labeled with the ingredients Five Guys includes. Most times, if you have any allergies, you can state them, and they will remove them or use an alternative for you to enjoy. At NY Allergy & Sinus Centers, we create personalized food management plans for our patients. We offer many allergy centers throughout Manhattan, Queens, Long Island, and Staten Island. Book an appointment with us to learn more about managing food allergies and receive your personalized food allergy action plan.