What is a Wheat Allergy? What is gluten sensitivity?
Wheat is the most allergenic of all grains, in part because it has a whole array of proteins that have been shown to cause allergic reactions: glutenins, albumins, gliadins, and globulins.
Gluten is present in any wheat-based foods. It is also added to some foods that are based upon other grains. Wheat-sensitive people may need to avoid products that contain any grain flours, because it is likely that gluten is still present. Even gluten-free products can contain traces of gluten. Celiac disease is a medical condition related to gluten intolerance.
Buckwheat is a safe alternative to wheat products, as are products that are made from corn or oats. There are also many specialty foods designed for gluten-sensitive individuals. Barley, maize, rice, and rye are safe alternatives for most, but there are some known cross-reactions, so they should be approached with care. Consult with a NYC allergist to determine a safe dietary plan for you.
Foods that Could Contain Wheat or Gluten
For help with your (or your child’s) wheat allergy or gluten sensitivity, call NYASC today @ 212-686-4448. Our allergists can help you find relief for your nasal and sinus problems, asthma, ear, nose, and throat (ENT) symptoms, respiratory allergies, and skin conditions. We have access to the latest testing and treatment, and we offer convenient asthma and allergy clinics throughout New York City: Murray Hill, Midtown, UWS, Chelsea, and Queens. We see pediatric and adult patients from all over the New York City metropolitan area, including Manhattan, Brooklyn, Queens, Staten Island, and the Bronx. And our doctors and specialists want to help! 212-686-4448